Week 6 Meals

aceMarch isn’t the only thing that is mad this week around the ranch. With the college kid coming home, I plan for a  busy weekend spoiling her by preparing some of her favorites.  Then on Sunday, the family will head to my mother in laws for an Easter celebration.  An easy crock pot carne asada with revamped leftovers, pork chops on the grill, and a cabbage stir fry will help ease the recovery process of a busy weekend.

Monday:  Pork Chops with Turnip Greens

chopI am not a big fan of pork chops, but my rancher loves them.  I think his secret goal in life is to try to convince me to fry them, but I don’t fry things.  I don’t like the mess!  So since I have managed to stay strong to his charms, a grilled pork chop will just have to do.  Plus the clean up is so much easier. My inner southern girl comes out with these delicious turnip greens.

Pork Chops

I found these pork chops on sale at my local grocery store, and  I simply drizzle with a little olive oil so my favorite pork seasoning will stick really well and stick them on the grill.  Use a marinade if you prefer, my grocery store did not have my favorite so I opted for the rub.  I am not a master on the grill, but somehow they manage to turn out really well. I have included a link for some tips on how to grill a pork chop if they are needed.   Grill tips for a pork chop

Turnip Greens

The recipe for these came from the food network and the Neely’s cooking show.  I have made just a few changes to the recipe, but this is my favorite way to prepare turnip greens.

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 onion (or a whole shallot)
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/2 pounds turnip greens, washed, stemmed, and chopped
  • 2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 cup unsalted chicken broth
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Add onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes and saute until tender.  Add turnip greens.  Mix together and cook until wilted.  Add pepper.

In a bowl mix together Dijon mustard and chicken broth.  Add to the greens and cook until most of the liquid has evaporated.

*I used already washed, stemmed, and chopped turnip greens(it was a mix with mustard and collard greens) in the produce department in my grocery store.  I like convenience products!

The Neely’s recipe

Tuesday:  Carne Asada with Cilantro Green Beans and Cucumber Pico de Gallo

asadaThis is one of my favorite recipes. I found this recipe on a blog called, Mom, What’s for Dinner, and made a few changes to make this not so spicy for the kiddos. Simple, tasty, Mexican, and enough to revamp leftovers later in the week paired with cilantro green beans and a little pico de gallo with a little cucumber, What is not to like?

Carne Asada

  • 1 1/4 cup unsalted beef broth
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, diced
  • jalepeno, seeded, veins removed, and chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • bottom round steak
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

Prepare all the vegetables and place in the bottom of the crock pot.  Mix together the cumin, chili powder, salt, and pepper and sprinkle over the meat.  Plave the meat in the crock pot.  Pour the beef broth in the crock pot and cook on low for 8 hours or high for 4-6 hours.  When the meat is finished cooking, cut meat into the desired portion size.  Serve with a little of the cooking liquid over the top and sprinkle with shredded pepper jack cheese.

*I used bottom round steak, but any cut would work.  I have used all kinds.  The family packs of meat tend to be less expensive, especially when my local grocery store places them on sale.  I freeze what I do not use, cooking about 3 pieces of the meat for this recipe.

*Shred any leftover meat with 2 forks for revamped leftovers later in the week.

Mom, What’s for Dinner link

 

Cilantro-Garlic Green Beans

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 12 oz raw green beans
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 Tbsp chopped cilantro
  • juice of half a lime

In a pot, bring some salted water to a boil.  Add green beans and cook for about 3-5 minutes.  Drain.

In a skillet heat olive oil.  Add garlic and cook until tender(about 2 minutes).  Add green beans and saute for 5 minutes.  Add cilantro and lime juice.  Mix well

Cucumber Pico De Gallo

  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled, seeded, and chopped
  • 1/2 onion
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded, deveined, and chopped
  • cilantro, chopped, to taste
  • salt, to taste
  • garlic powder, to taste
  • fresh lime juice, to taste( I use about 2 limes)

Mix together all ingredients and chill for about 30 minutes.

Wednesday:  Cabbage Stir Fry

cabbageThe rancher was not crazy about this recipe, but every now and then, I want something with an Asian twist, and this recipe from Low Carb Layla was just right.  This stir fry was a great way to use up some cabbage I found on sale.  Even though my rancher wasn’t crazy about this, the kids ate it up.

Cabbage Stir Fry

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • cabbage, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil
  • salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste
  • 1 tsp splenda or sugar
  • 2 green onions, or more (my kids don’t like them!)

Heat oil in a skillet.  Add onion and cook until tender then add ground meat.  Sprinkle the meat with salt, pepper, and garlic powder and cook meat until done.  Drain fat off the meat.

In the same skillet, heat the other teaspoon of oil.  Add cabbage and stir fry until crisp-tender.  Add all the other ingredients and heat through.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

*I always brown extra hamburger meat.  I like to have some in the freezer to make an easy meal at a later date or for the days I am out of leftovers and bread and need to make something for lunch!

Low Carb Layla recipe

Thursday:  Dance Night!!

Friday:  Carne Asada Lettuce Wraps

wrapsBy Friday, I am ready for the simplest recipe.  I revamp leftovers by using the leftover carne asada from Tuesday night.  Since I shredded the meat before storing in the refrigerator, the prep work for this meal is little to none.

  • Shredded carne asada, heated
  • cucumber pico de gallo
  • shredded pepper jack cheese
  • lettuce leaves

Simply put the lettuce on a plate and layer the meat, cheese, and pico.

*I also served with a boxed Mexican rice that I cooked according to package directions adding some green peas.  The kids love this rice!

Even though it seems like the weeks are another team in March Madness, my meals are not with this simple meal plan.  With everything going on, I am able to sit here with a humbled and content heart.  As I have been helping the rancher exercise horses looking across the pasture at the beautiful landscape, I am so grateful for the gifts that the Lord has given me.  The love and support friends, family, and even strangers that are now friends has been overwhelming.  This week call the kids to dinner, pull up a chair, ring the dinner bell, and say a little prayer because life is great.  Its time for dinner!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

